Australia is a dynamic wine producing country with approximately 60 wine regions and 103 "defined geographic indications" or GI zones. Across Australia, just shy of 400,000 acres are planted to vineyards. Although wine is produced in every state, most activity takes place in the southern, cooler parts of the country - South Australia, New South Wales, Victoria and Western Australia. The wine regions in each of these areas produce a wide variety of types and styles that reflect Australia's vast climatic differences, topography and soil types – in short, Terroir. For More information about the specific regions represented by Epicurean Wines, please explore the map to the right.
South Australia Victoria Western Australia New South Wales Northern Territory Queensland Tasmania
Wine Regions
  • 1
    Northern Tasmania
  • 2
    Southern Tasmania


With a cool climate that has long, sunny and dry autumns, Tasmania has ideal growing conditions for developing naturally elegant, intensely flavoured and aromatic wines, Chardonnay and Pinot Noir in particular. As well as producing stunning wines, Tasmania is also a picturesque gourmet paradise. It has the perfect climate for producing prime cheeses, premium beef, specialty honey, mushrooms and some of Australia's leading boutique beers.

Click on the region names below to view more information about each region.

All regional descriptions were provided by Australian Wine & Brandy Corporation.